What could freelancing sites do to improve?

Good Ideas?

• Yes

• No

Results are only viewable after voting.

lukerayner

Registered Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I am currently debating whether to create a brand new freelancing site which targets UK freelancers. I know there are dozens of sites already but in my opinion as someone who has attempted to use them they don't seem to be very useful to new freelancers.

This site will be for UK developers / designers at first since I have experience in this field but as it grows I will include more areas of work.

I am a Certified AWS Solution Architect and I am also a Senior PHP Developer yet I can't ever find any freelancing work through these sites even when my skill are perfect for that position. I am run my own business where I have half a dozen clients yet for some reason these freelancer sites never work for me.

I feel most if not all freelance sites target the "Job Poster" rather then the freelancer. I would imagine since they are the ones paying the money thats the reason but it just doesn't seem fair.

Here are a few examples of what I believe would create a brilliant Freelancing site for people in the UK.
  • You must be from the UK to become a freelancer on this site - this prevents freelancers from other less wealthy countries undervaluing the work.
  • To post a job you can be from anywhere in the world - opens the freelancers options
  • When posting a job they must specify the required skills tags - when applying to this role you must match at least x% of these skill tags if not 100%.
  • Job posts have to meet a minimum standard - each post could be reviewed at first and as this grows I could create some type of automation which approves the job post if it meets the requirements - prevents people from posting "Need a website making" and the freelancer then has to guess what that is worth.