Landing a job outside of Upwork

Abdelkader

Registered Member
Hello guys,
I've been working on Upwork for the last two years as a writer, transcriptionist and virtual assistant. I managed to build a good portfolio as a I earned 5* on all my writing related tasks. Sadly, during one of the jobs, the Upwork ID verification went wrong and I got suspended :S . I asked for a video ID verification but Upwork refused. Anyway, long story short, I can no longer work on there and for the past two months I've been looking for different platforms and companies where I can offer my services, but no luck so far.

I tried Freelancer but got contacted there only by few individuals offering shady businesses (most of them have duplicate accounts and would get their accounts closed within few days; makes me wonder if Freelancer itself is legit). So, no luck on here.

I tried GoLance, which seemed to me like a "ghost freelance town". There were hardly any jobs and I read on the internet that the website actually hired both clients to post jobs on there and freelancers to apply to them. Have any of you guys tried it before? Thoughts on it?

Next is Guru. This one looks very similar to Upwork. I applied to different jobs, but got no responses so far.

I'm currently trying Fiverr. I read plenty of positive feedbacks concerning this one. I'm still trying to figure how it works, since it's very different from the other ones. I posted a couple of gigs and waiting for the results.

Other than these freelancing platforms, I tried few micro tasks websites and most of em were scams. Found a legitimate one called ClixSense, but the tasks offered very little pay compared to the time it might take to complete them. ClixSense would be practical for some extra pocket money, but doing tasks as your main occupation wouldn't earn you much.