LanceBase

Staff
Elite Member
Contributing Member
Registered Member
Deborah Ng - Owner, Telecommunity
LanceBase Profile: @debng

Deb-Ng-LanceBase.jpg

Deborah Ng is a freelance writer, published author, and social media consultant specializing in online community development. When she's not writing, her "favorite things are nagging my family, vacuuming dog hair tumbleweeds from my tile floor, and climbing mountains of laundry; just kidding! I love none of those things!"

Deborah is always up for a good binge-watch, she's passionate about books, and her famous sangria brings all the boys to the yard. If you’re looking for her, try her back deck where she can be found enjoying a meal with her family, reading a good book, or just counting her lucky stars.

What inspired you to pursue a career in freelance writing?
I’ve always been passionate about writing and always wanted to be a writer. My background is in traditional publishing where I began my career as the receptionist for a magazine publisher, and left as an editor. (We won’t talk about my four unfortunate years in accounting.) A few years before I left the workforce for good, I sold my first piece to the first place I pitched and it gave me the confidence I needed to pursue a career in writing. I continued to freelance on a very part time basis, hoping to one day do it full time. In 2002, the decision was made easier as I was pregnant and we just bought a house in another state.

How long did it take for you to reach profitability? How did you live through those first few months/years?