How to get clients?

CADesigner99

Registered Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I have been freelancing for a few months now but wanted some advice on the best way to get more clients. I do CAD work and have been for a few years. I don't want to use any websites like Freelancer.com, Upwork.com etc since I have tried these and have spent hours on them with no result. How do you recommend to get consistent clients? I am happy to pay somebody a commission to get me clients if that is an option as well. What do you suggest? Alternatively, if anybody needs any CAD work done then please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Julia_K

Registered Member
Reaction score
Networking. Recommendations work the best!
You can visit meetups and conferences where you can find your target audience.

KeanuWriter

Registered Member
Reaction score
I know I'm a little bit late to the party here, but I have found the best way is like what @Julia_K said. Get out there and spread your name and then get some orders, do good work and get recommended to their friends, etc... This can depend greatly on what area of freelancing you do, but I tend to find this has worked well and I am a writer.

In terms of consistent clients, that's all down to providing good work for anyone you find. Most of my revenue comes from repeat customers, they get comfortable with my services and order from me time and time again. Newer customers are harder to convince as there's so much selection for them and they'll not fully know what USPs they're after, etc...

Hope this helps!

jakobpersson

Registered Member
Reaction score
I did some research a while ago and looked at surveys. The most common ways freelancers find work are:
  1. Friends and family, and friends of them. It's always easier when you come recommended or have something in common.
  2. Check with former employers. They know you can give you strong references.
  3. Check with former colleagues.