This site uses JavaScript—Adblock must be disabled to view some JavaScript functions

Welcome to LanceBase

Ready to join the forum? A diverse community of freelance professionals awaits.

How did everybody Get involved in Freelancing?

Discussion in 'Freelance Community Chat' started by shmathur, Apr 9, 2017.

1. shmathur

Registered Member

I am just wondering what drove everybody here on this forum to get involved with freelancing in general? Did a classic 9-5 job not appeal to you, or were you laid off or was there some sort of difficulty you had that held you back from working normally. Or do you guys freelance in addition to having a normal 9-5 day job. I am very new to freelancing and I am just curious how other people decided that this is what they want to do?

2. HeidiMull

HeidiMull Registered Member
    Supporter

For me, it was definitely a difficulty that held me back from working "normally" (though I consider 9-5 jobs a pretty unnatural thing that has been conditioned into us as "normal"). I got ill at age 16 and have been too disabled to work since. Before then I was making pretty good money as a babysitter, house cleaner, organizer, yard care person, etc, so it made sense to me to go back to working odd jobs the moment I was well enough to do so.

If or when I become well enough to work a more "classic" job then I'll have a decision to make, but until then I'm just going to do the best I can with what I've got! The flexibility of freelancing is what currently allows me to work around all my health difficulties, and I really appreciate that.

3. closed

closed Guest

In my case, I guess I just got tired of the normal 9-5 jobs and decided to test my hand at freelancing: I am hopeful to eventually work only as a freelance and get rid of the obligations a company impose on me.

Besides, as a person with severe social anxiety, I haven't found a formal job where I can thrive. So I spend most office day just hanging there.

smwas86 and chrisg like this.